By: Senator(s) Hawks, Minor

To: Judiciary

SENATE BILL NO. 2910

AN ACT TO CREATE A NEW CODE SECTION TO BE CODIFIED AS SECTION 1 9-7-59, MISSISSIPPI CODE OF 1972, TO CREATE THE TWENTY-THIRD CIRCUIT COURT DISTRICT; TO AMEND SECTIONS 9-7-45 AND 9-7-46, 2 3 4 MISSISSIPPI CODE OF 1972, IN CONFORMITY THERETO; AND FOR RELATED 5 PURPOSES. б 7 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI: 8 9 SECTION 1. The following provision shall be codified as 10 Section 9-7-59, Mississippi Code of 1972: <u>9-7-59.</u> The Twenty-third Circuit Court District shall be 11 comprised of DeSoto County. 12 SECTION 2. Section 9-7-45, Mississippi Code of 1972, is 13 amended as follows: 14 15 9-7-45. The Seventeenth Circuit Court District shall * * * consist of Panola County, Tallahatchie County, Tate County and 16 17 Yalobusha County. SECTION 3. Section 9-7-46, Mississippi Code of 1972, is 18 19 amended as follows: 9-7-46. * * * There shall be two (2) circuit judges for the 20 Seventeenth Circuit Court District. 21 * * * 2.2 SECTION 4. The Attorney General of the State of Mississippi 23 24 is hereby directed to submit this act, immediately upon approval 25 by the Governor, or upon approval by the Legislature subsequent to a veto, to the Attorney General of the United States or to the 26 27 United States District Court for the District of Columbia in accordance with the provisions of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, 28 as amended and extended. SECTION 5. This act shall take effect 29

S. B. No. 2910 99\SS26\R987 PAGE 1 30 and be in force from and after the date it is effectuated under 31 Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended and 32 extended.